Site Title

Dinniman, Chester, Powell Honored for Contributions to Coatesville Community 


WEST CHESTER (August 5, 2020) – State Senator Andy Dinniman, Joyce Chester, and Dr. Teresa Lee Powell were the first honorees to be recognized by the Movement Community Development Corporation (MCDC), a nonprofit organization aimed at strengthening the Coatesville community. 


They were honored at MCDC’s first annual Community Recognition and Awards Ceremony on Monday. The ceremony was streamed live online due to the coronavirus pandemic. 


“First, we want to thank everyone who has supported and is supporting MCDC and the Coatesville community through some very difficult circumstances,” said Alphonso “Fonz” Newsuan, MCDC founder and Executive Officer. “Even before this pandemic, we decided to honor the work of Senator Dinniman, Dr. Powell, and Joyce Chester. Clearly, we made the right choice because their efforts and love for the community have continued to shine brighter than ever in the face of unprecedented challenges. And like our honorees, MCDC will continue to strive to be light for positivity, progress, and people in Coatesville and the surrounding region.” 


Dinniman, Chester, and Powell were recognized for their tireless efforts and contributions to residents in the Coatesville and Chester County area. The awards were as follows: 

  • State Senator Andy Dinniman received the Lifetime Achievement Award for his work to strengthen public education, career opportunities, community development, transportation infrastructure, and job and economic growth in the Coatesville area. Dinniman, who serves as minority chair of the Senate Education Committee, has also secured significant state funding to reopen Coatesville’s Ash Park Pool.  


  • Joyce Chester received the Community Service Appreciation Award for her vast contributions to the community as President and CEO of the Chester County Opportunities Industrialization Center (OIC), Inc. Joyce is a member of several community service organizations that champion diversity, personal development, and public assistance. She also chairs / co-chairs community organizations that focus on providing vital services to the elderly and homeless population. 


  • Dr. Teresa Lee Powell received the Community Empowerment Award. She has spent more than 20 years as an educator in Chester County and Camden, New Jersey. Dr. Powell has served in myriad roles, including as a teacher, assistant principal, principal, math supervisor, a director of both elementary and middle schools, and an Assistant Superintendent. Dr. Powell also spent 11 years as an adjunct professor before joining the faculty at Lincoln University fulltime. 


Dinniman, who is retiring at this end of this term, said he was honored and humbled to be recognized alongside Powell and Chester. 

“Standing with my fellow honorees and hearing their inspirational words, I am more confident than ever that we will continue to work to advance a Coatesville and a Chester County is that inclusive, supportive, and better for everybody,” he said. “The coronavirus has presented unprecedented challenges, but we will not let them get us down. Rather, we will continue to work in the spirit of cooperation, collaboration, and community to overcome all of them and more.” 

Founded by Newsuan, a longtime Coatesville resident and community activist, MCDC supports cultural, educational, and social community activities along with any type of community-building initiative.  The organization also advocates for voter registration and continues to strive to help teach young people the importance of civic involvement. MCDC’s current goal is to raise the funds needed to restore the Ash Park Pool, among other important initiatives.